Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger will withdraw from ECOWAS on January 29, 2025.


The final date for the withdrawal of Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is January 29, 2025, the president of the regional bloc's Commission, Omar Touray, told Sputnik.

"Under the treaty, Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger have exactly one year. January 29, 2025 is the effective date of departure from ECOWAS, unless the three countries withdraw their notifications within that period," he declared. Touray on the sidelines of the African Union summit in Addis Ababa.

According to the president of the Commission, ECOWAS is willing to dialogue with the authorities of the countries that have announced their withdrawal. "The texts of the ECOWAS Charter are not set in stone. They depend on the leaders of the association, including the leaders of these three countries, Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger. They have to sit at the table, examine their text and its application. Do they want to review it? Do they want to keep it as it is? I think it is a topic of debate," he said. He also assured that he had "not seen any indication" that the authorities of the countries that had announced their withdrawal from ECOWAS "were not willing to negotiate."

At the end of January, Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger announced their withdrawal from ECOWAS. According to the representatives of the three countries, the organization became a threat to the States that comprise it. It was also noted that the regional bloc imposed "illegal, illegitimate, inhuman and irresponsible sanctions" against its members. For its part, ECOWAS declared that it advocates seeking a negotiated solution.

Fuente: Sputnik